boys_basketball_150Crestview senior Damian Helm was chosen as the 2013-14 NWC Player of The Year by Northwest Conference boys’ basketball coaches at the annual selection meeting Monday evening in Delphos.  Helm received 117 of a possible 120 points in the coaches’ voting.

Helm averaged 15.2 points per game along with 4.5 rebounds and 2.9 assists for the Knights, while shooting 57 percent from the field and 91 percent from the free throw line this year.

He was joined on the NWC first team by Columbus Grove’s Will Vorhees, Spencerville’s Ben Bowers, Jefferson’s Trey Smith and Lincolnview’s Kyle Williams.

The voting procedure called for each coach to vote for the top 15 players on a 15-14-13, etc. point descending scale.  No coach could vote for his own players.

Coach of the Year honors in the NWC go to Jeremy Best of Crestview.  He led the Knights to an 8-0 conference mark and an undefeated regular season at 22-0.

First Team
Damian Helm – Crestview – Senior
Will Vorhess – Columbus Grove – Senior
Ben Bowers – Spencerville – Senior
Trey Smith – Delphos Jefferson – Sophomore
Kyle Williams – Lincolnview – Senior

Second Team
Zach Goecke – Spencerville – Sophomore
Cam Etzler – Crestview – Senior
Kyle Kauser – Paulding – Senior
Ross Thompson – Delphos Jefferson – Senior
Tyson Bolenbaugh – Crestview – Senior

Honorable Mention
Levi Kistler – Bluffton – Junior
Guy Harder – Paulding – Senior
Matt Shuey – Allen East – Senior
Jace Darbyshire – Columbus Grove – Junior
Justis Dowdy – Lincolnview – Junior
Austin Dumbaugh – Ada – Senior
Connor Lautzenheiser – Crestview – Sophomore
Dakota Prichard – Spencerville – Freshman
Mason Nourse – Spencerville – Sophomore
Brayden Sautter – Ada – Sophomore