2017-2018 NWC Boys Basketball All-Conference Teams

Crestview 6’7″ wing Javin Etzler was chosen as the 2017-18 NWC Player of the Year by Northwest Conference boys’ basketball coaches at the annual selection meeting Monday evening in Delphos.  Etzler received 115 total points to finish ahead of Chayten Overholt, a guard from Lincolnview.  Etzler averaged 15.2 points per game along with 7 rebounds and 2.3 assists per game for the Knights and was also a first team selection last year.

Etzler and Overholt were joined on the NWC first team by Derek Stout (CV), Caden Ringwald (LV), Alex Rode (DJ) and Blake Reynolds (CG).  Overholt, Stout, Ringwald and Rode are seniors while Etzler is a junior and Reynolds is a freshman.

Coach of the Year honors in the NWC go to Jeremy Best of Crestview.  He led the Knights  to an 8-0 conference mark and a regular season record of 19-3.  This year’s conference championship was the 17th NWC title in school history for the Knights and the first since the 2013-14 season.

First Team
Javin Etzler – Crestview – Junior
Chayten Overholt – Lincolnview – Senior
Derek Stout – Crestview – Senior
Caden Ringwald – Lincolnview – Senior
Alex Rode – Delphos Jefferson – Senior
Blake Reynolds – Columbus Grove – Freshman

Second Team
Wade Sheets – Crestview – Junior
Drew Kline – Crestview – Junior
Kaleb Jefferson – Bluffton – Senior
Ethan Rhonehouse – Paulding – Senior
Zane Miller – Lincolnview – Junior
Fletcher Cook – Paulding – Junior

Honorable Mention
Connor Frazier – Ada – Junior
Tayt Birnesser – Columbus Grove – Freshman
Marcus Miller – Paulding – Senior
Jaret Miller – Paulding – Junior
Jared Piercefield – Bluffton – Sophomore
Tyler Bratton – Delphos Jefferson – Senior
Brenen Auer – Delphos Jefferson – Senior
Ben Dues – Spencerville – Senior
Ethan Kemler – Lincolnview – Junior
Mason Soper – Bluffton – Sophomore

2/27 OHSAA Boys Basketball Sectionals

Division III Sectional Semifinals at Miller City
Spencerville 33 Fairview 20
Paulding 42 Bluffton 35

Division IV Sectional Semifinals at Coldwater
Waynesfield-Goshen 66 Ada 59
New Knoxville 40 Allen East 28

Division IV Sectional Semifinal at Paulding
Lincolnview 49 Continental 34

Division IV Sectional Semifinal at Ottawa-Glandorf
Columbus Grove 71 Arcadia 36

2/24 OHSAA Girls Basketball Sectionals

Division III Sectional Championships at Lincolnview
Crestview 28 Hicksville 19
Coldwater 52 Allen East 20

Division III Sectional Championship at Bluffton
Spencerville 43 Liberty Center 35

Division IV Sectional Championship at Bath
Columbus Grove 42 Bluffton 40

Division IV Sectional Championship at Paulding
Lincolnview 35 Delphos Jefferson 33

Division IV Sectional Championship at Allen East
Fort Recovery 59 Ada 16

2018 OHSAA Wrestling Individual Sectionals

Division III Sectional Tournament at Lima Central Catholic
Four from each weight class at LCC will advance to the District Tournament in Southwest Ohio
3. Allen East 146, 6. Columbus Grove 101.5, 7. Bluffton 96, 10. Ada 63, 11. Spencerville 61.5, 13. Delphos Jefferson 28, 14. Lincolnview 18
District Qualifiers:
106: 3. Jeremy Sturgeon, Bluffton; 4. Jordan Kennedy, Allen East
113: 1. Chase Caprella, Allen East; 3. Tayton Kleman, Bluffton
120: 1. Drake Carmean, Allen East; 3. Josh Mehaffie, Bluffton; 4. Grayson Ford, Spencerville
132: 2. Jay Goetz, Spencerville; 4. Kade Cortez, Ada
138: 1. Lucas Freeman, Allen East
145: 2. Chase Sumner, Ada
152: 4. Blake Hershberger, Allen East
182: 2. Garrett Neth, Allen East
195: 1. Deandre Nassar, Bluffton; 2. Dakota Sargent, Columbus Grove
220: 1. Dylan Sargent, Columbus Grove; 3. Landen Luginbuhl, Bluffton
285: 2. Jeff Meyer, Columbus Grove; 3. Brennan Davies, Allen East; 4. Brandon O’Dell, Spencerville
Brackets | Final Results | Placers

Division III Sectional Tournament at Archbold
Four from each weight class will advance to the District at Defiance
11. Paulding 42
District Qualifiers:
126: 3. Ryan Woodring, Paulding
132: 2. Logan Mudel, Paulding
Complete Results

2017-18 NWC Girls Basketball All-Conference Teams

Crestview senior forward Paige Motycka was selected as the 2017-18 NWC Player of the Year in voting by Northwest Conference girls basketball coaches.  Motycka edged out senior Carlee McCluer of Columbus Grove in a close vote.  Last year’s player of the year, Paige Bellman (CG) was awarded an “Honorary Player of the Year” award by the league coaches as she missed her senior season due to injury.

Motycka averaged 16.3 points and 7.1 rebounds per game in leading the Knights to an 16-6 regular season record.  Crestview finished league play tied for second with Bluffton and Spencerville.

Joining Motycka and McCluer on the  NWC First Team were junior Alivia Koenig (BL), senior Lauren Schroeder (CG), sophomore Lexi Gregory (CV) and junior Avery Rumer (BL).  Motycka and Koening were repeat first team selections from last year.

Brian Schroeder, who led Columbus Grove (8-0) to the school’s third consecutive NWC girls basketball title  was selected as the NWC Coach of the Year. 

First Team
Paige Motycka – Senior – Crestview
Carlee McCluer – Senior – Columbus Grove
Alivia Koenig – Junior – Bluffton
Lauren Schroeder – Senior – Columbus Grove
Lexi Gregory – Sophomore – Crestview
Averey Rumer – Junior – Bluffton

Second Team
Neleya Burden – Sophomore – Spencerville
Olivia Gorman – Senior – Lincolnview
Briana Townley – Junior – Paulding
Sarah Miller – Senior – Delphos Jefferson
Tori Newland – Sophomore – Allen East

Honorable Mention
Jenna Henline – Senior – Spencerville
Maddie Gossard – Senior – Ada
Macy Wallace – Senior – Delphos Jefferson
Katie Prater – Junior – Bluffton
Cassidy Posey – Senior – Paulding
Lyvia Black – Senior – Crestview
Kaiden Grigsby – Senior – Spencerville
Rylee Sybert – Junior – Columbus Grove
Devyn Carder – Senior – Delphos Jefferson
Audrey Manz – Senior – Paulding

2/17 OHSAA Swimming & Diving District Tournament Results

2018 State Tournament Qualifiers
Division II
no qualifiers

1 mtr Diving: none
200 Yard Medley Relay: none
200 Yard Freestyle: none
200 Yard IM: none
50 Yard Freestyle: 14. Klava Katayama, Ada
100 Yard Butterfly: 21. Klava Katayama, Ada
100 Yard Freestyle: none
500 Yard Freestyle: none
200 Yard Freestyle Relay: none
100 Yard Backstroke: none
100 Yard Breaststroke: none
400 Yard Freestyle Relay: none

2018 NW District Tournament Results: Div. I | Div. II | Div. I Diving | Div. II Diving

By |2018-02-18T23:48:09-05:00February 17th, 2018|Ada, Scores, Swimming Boys, Swimming Girls|0 Comments
Go to Top