2010 NWC Softball All-Conference Teams

Northwest Conference softball coaches have selected Lincolnview senior pitcher, Kela Fries, as the 2010 NWC Player of the Year, and named Paulding’s Erin Jury as NWC Coach of the Year.

Fries had a record of 16-5 with an ERA of 0.99. She also batted .557 with 9 doubles, 1 triple, 4 home runs and 44 RBI’s in leading the Lancers to a 7-2 conference record and a third place finish in the NWC.

Coach Jury led Paulding to an 8-0 record and at least a share of the NWC championship in her first year as head coach. The Panthers can win the title outright if they can defeat Allen East in a makeup conference game later this week. A victory over the Mustangs would end Crestview’s string of 12 straight NWC softball titles. Should the Panthers lose, they would share the crown with the Knights at 8-1.

Joining Fries on the NWC First Team are Shelby Erford and Maycee Adams of Paulding, Lydia Etzler, Chelsey Lare and Kayla Richardson of Crestview, Carrie Bassitt of Bluffton, Leah Roberson of Allen East, Jenna Miller of Ada, and Lindsay Simmons of Ada.

1st Team
Kela Fries, Lincolnview, Senior, P
Shelby Erford, Paulding, Senior, SS
Lydia Etzler, Crestview, Senior, OF
Chelsey Lare, Crestview, Senior, P
Carrie Bassitt, Bluffton, Sophomore, P/3B
Maycee Adams, Paulding, Senior, CF
Leah Roberson, Allen East, Junior, C
Jenna Miller, Delphos Jefferson, Senior, C
Lindsay Simmons, Ada, Sophomore, 2B/SS
Kayla Richardson, Crestview, Senior, 3B/P

2nd Team
Ashley Birchmeier, Columbus Grove, Senior, 1B
Jessica Burger, Crestview, Junior, C
Brooke Moeller, Spencerville, Senior, C
Laurel Conrad, Lima Central Catholic, Senior, SS
Kayla Owens, Paulding, Sophomore, 3B/P
Kristen Beck, Paulding, Sophomore, P
Brianna Laing, Bluffton, Senior, 2B/SS
Jodie Doner, Lincolnview, Freshman, OF
Jessi Elsass, Allen East, Senior, 3B/P
Leslie Hicks, Lincolnview, Junior, IF

Honorable Mention
Paige Gerdeman, Columbus Grove, Senior, SS
Paige Biederman, Lima Central Catholic, Senior, CF
Shannon McKamey, Bluffton, Senior, RF
Jessica Patton, Lima Central Catholic, Senior, P
Ashley Wagner, Ada, Senior, 3B/SS
Paige McClure, Lincolnview, Junior, IF
Heather May, Bluffton, Junior, C
Megan Moreo, Delphos Jefferson, Senior, SS
Taylor Hatcher, Paulding, Freshman, C
Kayla Crow, Allen East, Junior, P/1B
Ashlin Gable, Bluffton, Senior, 1B
Brooke Schlegel, Paulding, Sophomore, LF
Jessica Vance, Paulding, Senior, 1B
Kaytlynn Warnecke, Spencerville, Sophomore, P
Samantha Wildman, Ada, Freshman, 1B/P
Dani Hicks, Crestview, Sophomore, OF/3B
Lauren Calvert, Lincolnview, Freshman, C

By |2011-03-20T22:52:42-04:00May 17th, 2010|Lincolnview, News, NWC, Paulding, Softball|0 Comments

2010 NWC Baseball All-Conference Teams

Northwest Conference baseball coaches have selected Bluffton junior pitcher/infielder, Nathan Cheney, as the conference Player of the Year, and have also named Paulding coach Mike Leach as the Coach of the Year. Leach led the Panthers to an 8-1 record and a share of the NWC title with Bluffton and Lima Central Catholic who also finished 8-1 in conference play.

Cheney was 7-1 (5-0 in the NWC) for the Pirates with an ERA of 1.43.  At the plate, Nathan hit .465 with 8 doubles, 1 triple, 1 home run and 22 RBI’s. When not on the mound, he was a standout at both 3B and shortstop for the Pirates.

Cheney was joined on the NWC First Team by his Blutton teammate, Gabe Goldsberry, Aaron Swaney of Allen East, Kyle Balliett and Ian Zollars of Crestview, Mike Snider of LCC, Justin Riley of Paulding, Tyler Dietering of Spencerville and Craig Carder of Delphos Jefferson.

1st Team
Nathan Cheney, Bluffton, Junior, P/3B/SS
Aaron Swaney, Allen East, Senior, C/P
Kyle Balliett, Crestview, Senior, 1B/P
Mike Snider, Lima Central Catholic, Junior, C/P
Justin Riley, Paulding, Senior, IF/P
Tyler Dietering, Spencerville, Senior, P/C/IF
Ian Zollars, Crestview, Senior, P
Gabe Goldsberry, Bluffton, Junior, SS/P
Craig Carder, Delphos Jefferson, Senior, P/OF/IF

2nd Team
Kevin Linehan, Lima Central Catholic, Senior, P
Derrick Pease, Paulding, Junior, 1B
Brandon Hovest, Columbus Grove, Senior, P/IF
Caleb Girod, Lincolnview, Senior, OF/P
Matt Suderman, Bluffton, Senior, 3B/P
Levi Hoy, Allen East, Junior, OF
Tyler Simmons, Ada, Senior, C
Jordan Jettinghoff, Delphos Jefferson, Senior, IF
Zack Barrientes, Columbus Grove, Sophomore, SS

Honorable Mention
Cody McCullough, Lima Central Catholic, Junior, 3B
Clay Wannemacher, Bluffton, Junior, C
Logan Stoller, Paulding, Junior, SS/P
Eli Ricker, Columbus Grove, Senior, P
Joey Overmyer, Crestview, Junior, C
Evan Vining, Crestview, Senior, OF
Ian Bracey, Lincolnview, Senior, SS
Austin Stolly, Lima Central Catholic, Junior, SS
Nick Zerante, Lima Central Catholic, Senior, RF
Alex Mott, Paulding, Junior, C
Taylor Hoehn, Lincolnview, Junior, 1B
Jesse Maag, Columbus Grove, Senior, CF
Jacob Shimp, Spencerville, Senior, IF
Austin Everhart, Ada, Junior, 2B
Jordan Vorst, Delphos Jefferson, Junior, OF
Cody Mattson, Ada, Senior, IF
Evan Skilliter, Bluffton, Senior, 1B
Clayton Longstreth, Lincolnview, Sophomore, C
Kory Layman, Spencerville, Senior, P/IF

By |2011-03-20T22:54:27-04:00May 17th, 2010|Baseball, Bluffton, News, NWC, Paulding|0 Comments
Go to Top