Columbus Grove junior post player Paige Bellman was selected as the 2016-17 NWC Player of the Year in voting by Northwest Conference girls basketball coaches.  Bellman was a unanimous selection by the coaches in the balloting receiving the maximum of 120 points.  Last year’s player of the year, senior Jade Clement (CG) finished second in the balloting with 110 points closely followed by junior Paige Motycka (CV) with 107 points.

Bellman averaged 17.4 points and 8.9 rebounds per game in leading the Bulldogs to an 8-0 conference record and first place in the NWC.  She shot at a 65.9% rate while also garnering 3.3 steals and 2.9 blocks per game.

Joining Bellman, Clement and Motycka on the  NWC First Team were sophomore Alivia Koenig (BL), senior Haley Wyss (ADA), and junior Sarah Miller (DJ).  Bellman, Clement and Koening were repeat first team selections from last year.

Brian Schroeder, who led Columbus Grove (8-0) to the school’s third NWC girls basketball title  was selected as the NWC Coach of the Year. 

The team breakdowns are as follows:

First Team
Paige Bellman – Columbus Grove – Junior
Jade Clement – Columbus Grove – Senior
Paige Motycka – Crestview – Junior
Alivia Koenig – Bluffton – Sophomore
Haley Wyss – Ada – Senior
Sarah Miller – Delphos Jefferson – Junior

Second Team
Abbie Parkins – Bluffton – Senior
Macy McCluer – Columbus Grove – Senior
Kayla Schimmoeller – Lincolnview – Junior
Faith Vogel – Paulding – Senior
Lyvia Black – Crestview – Junior

Honorable Mention
Jenna Henline – Spencerville – Junior
Averey Rumer – Bluffton – Sophomore
Alena Looser – Lincolnview – Junior
Briana Townley – Paulding – Sophomore
Macy Wallace – Delphos Jefferson – Junior
Lauren Criblez – Allen East – Senior
Alexis Gregory – Crestview – Freshman
Kaiden Grigsby – Spencerville – Junior
Kelsey Berelsman – Delphos Jefferson – Senior
Katlyn Wendel – Lincolnview – Senior