wrestling_150In one of the closest tournaments in conference history, Paulding edged Spencerville by just two points to win the 2013 Northwest Conference Wrestling Tournament at Lima Central Catholic. The Panthers finished with 256 points to 254 for the Bearcats. LCC placed third with 225 points.

Last year’s champion, Delphos Jefferson, had the most individual winners (3) but finished fifth overall two points behind Columbus Grove. Eight of the nine participating schools had at least one individual champion.

LCC senior Brandon McCormick (138) was named Wrestler of The Year in the NWC. Brandon is a four-time NWC champion. Josh Neilson of Paulding was voted by his peers as NWC Coach of The Year.

2013 NWC Wrestling Tournament
1. Paulding 256, 2. Spencerville 254, 3. Lima Central Catholic 225, 4. Columbus Grove 199, 5. Delphos Jefferson 197, 6. Bluffton 174, 7. Allen East 147, 8. Lincolnview 124, 9. Ada 116.5

Complete Results

NWC Individual Champions:
106: Tregg Keysor, Columbus Grove
113: Jaquobe Markward, Lincolnview
120: Tyler Baker, Allen East
126: Taylor Deatrick, Paulding
132: Trevor Bockey, Spencerville
138: Brandon McCormick, Lima Central Catholic
145: Chris Truesdale, Delphos Jefferson
152: Zack Wilson, Bluffton
160: Max McAdoo, Allen East
170: Bobby Sunderhaus, Lima Central Catholic
182: Josiah Conley, Bluffton
195: Colin McConnahea, Delphos Jefferson
220: Tyler Ash, Paulding
285: Geoff Ketcham, Delphos Jefferson