softball_150Northwest Conference softball coaches selected Ada senior second baseman, Lindsay Simmons, as the 2012 NWC Player of the Year, and named Crestview’s Owen Pugh as NWC Coach of the Year at the all-conference selection meeting Monday evening at Delphos Jefferson.

Simmons, a three time first team all-conference selectee, hit .493 for the Bulldogs this season and led her team to a tie for third place in the conference at 6-3.  Lindsay will continue her softball career at Ohio Northern University.  She received 174 out of a possible 180 votes in balloting by the coaches.

Coach Pugh led Crestview to a 9-0 record and an outright NWC championship.

Simmons is joined on the NWC first team by Ada teammate Ashlie Kindle, Bluffton’s Ashlin Gable, Columbus Grove’s Katelyn Scott, Crestview’s Taylor Hamrick, Kirstin Hicks and Taylor Springer, LCC’s Meredith Shepherd, Lincolnview’s Jodi Doner, and Paulding’s Kayla Owens.

1st Team
Lindsay Simmons – Ada
Ashlin Gable – Bluffton
Taylor Hamrick – Crestview
Kayla Owens – Paulding
Katelyn Scott – Columbus Grove
Jodi Doner – Lincolnview
Meredith Shepherd – Lima Central Catholic
Kirstin Hicks – Crestview
Ashlie Kindle – Ada
Taylor Springer – Crestview

2nd Team
Erin Conkle – Allen East
Kayla Longworth – Bluffton
Dani Hicks – Crestview
Terra Crowle – Crestview
Cece Utendorf – Columbus Grove
Ashley McClure – Lincolnview
Alyssa Mulholland – Spencerville
Carli Springer – Lincolnview
Kristen Beck – Paulding
Holly Genth – Crestview

Honorable Mention
Bobbi Heckel – Columbus Grove
Katie Palte – Bluffton
Kendra Paul – Ada
Cassidy Bevington – Delphos Jefferson
McKenzie Nofer – Crestview
Lauren Calvert – Lincolnview
Meredith Niese – Lima Central Catholic
Taylor Branham – Delphos Jefferson
Mesa Pracht – Paulding
Courtney Reneau – Allen East
Maddie Etzler – Crestview
Mary Stoll – Lima Central Catholic
Haleigh Mull – Spencerville
Devin Springer – Lincolnview
Tori Johnston – Spencerville
Samantha Thitoff – Delphos Jefferson