baseball_150Northwest Conference baseball coaches voted Lima Central Catholic senior pitcher/utilityman, Travis Clark, as the conference Player of the Year, and also chose Crestview coach Jim Wharton as the Coach of the Year at the all-conference selection meeting Monday evening at Delphos Jefferson.  Wharton led the Knights to an 8-1 record and a share of the NWC title with Lima Central Catholic who also finished 8-1 in conference play.

Clark was 5-0 against NWC opponents with an ERA of 1.37 and 6-1 overall.  He also hit .364 for the Thunderbirds with 20 RBI’s.  Clark has signed to pitch next year at Siena Heights University, a member of the Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference.

Clark received 178 out of a possible 180 points in voting by the NWC baseball coaches and is joined on the NWC First Team by two LCC teammates, Colin Stolly and Connor Dee.  Other first team selections include Derek Ketchum of Allen East, Matt Jay and Brady Shafer of Columbus Grove, Matt Holden and Damian Helm of Crestview, and Matt Youngpeter and Cory Rieman of Spencerville.

1st Team
Travis Clark – Lima Central Catholic
Matt Youngpeter – Spencerville
Matt Jay – Columbus Grove
Matt Holden – Crestview
Damian Helm – Crestview
Colin Stolly – Lima Central Catholic
Brady Shafer – Columbus Grove
Derek Ketchum – Allen East
Connor Dee – Lima Central Catholic
Cory Rieman – Spencerville

2nd Team
Quentin Vance – Paulding
Curtis Miller – Delphos Jefferson
Clayton Longstreth – Lincolnview
Venice Roberts – Crestview
Brandon Benroth – Columbus Grove
Jared Hallfeldt – Crestview
Tyler Stevens – Allen East
Sam Huffman – Lima Central Catholic
Braden Goodwin – Allen East
Nick Leeth – Lincolnview

Honorable Mention
Matt Gray – Ada
Jeremy Basinger – Bluffton
Javier Gonzalez – Paulding
Matt Gillett – Bluffton
Chris McClain – Bluffton
Blake Hoffman – Columbus Grove
Jeff Schleeter – Delphos Jefferson
Jon Swaney – Allen East
Josh Verhoff – Columbus Grove
Zack Barrientes – Columbus Grove
Kasey Lee – Spencerville
Billy Taflinger – Lima Central Catholic
Nick Watkins – Lima Central Catholic
Jason Koenn – Paulding
Kyle Williams – Lincolnview
Jared Rex – Spencerville
Gabe Sutton – Ada
Trey Roney – Columbus Grove