Lima Central Catholic senior and team captain, Kelly Ahman, was the unanimous choice of Northwest Conference coaches as the NWC’s first Girls Soccer Player of the Year in voting Sunday afternoon at Delphos Jefferson High School.

Ahman’s 14 goals, 10 assists, and overall outstanding play led the Thunderbirds to the first ever NWC girls soccer title with a record of 5-0-1.  Bluffton finished second in the seven team competition with a record of 4-2-0.   Allen East and Crestview tied for third.  Delphos Jefferson, Lincolnview and Ada rounded out the conference standings. Teams were awarded three points for each victory and one point for each tie to determine the final order of finish.

Ahman edged out freshman teammate Sydney Santaguida for POY honors.  Santaguida tallied 16 goals and 12 assists in her first year of varsity play.  Rounding out the 11-player first team were Ada’s Sarah Clum, Allen East’s Trisha Drury, Claudia Rettig and Kyra Plaugher, Bluffton’s Jill Steinmetz, Crestview’s Madison Etzler and Catelyn Mefferd, Jefferson’s Kylee Haehn, and Lincolnview’s Kaylee Thatcher.

After voting on the all-conference teams, NWC coaches selected Lamar Houston of Allen East as Coach of the  Year for 2011.

2011 All-Conference NWC Girls Soccer Teams
First Team
Kelly Ahman, Lima Central Catholic, Senior
Sydney Santaguida, Lima Central Catholic, Freshman
Jill Steinmetz, Bluffton, Sophomore
Madison Etzler, Crestview, Senior
Trisha Drury, Allen East, Junior
Catelyn Mefferd, Crestview, Senior
Sarah Clum, Ada, Senior
Claudia Rettig, Allen East, Junior
Kyra Plaugher, Allen East, Sophomore
Kaylee Thatcher, Lincolnview, Junior
Kylee Haehn, Delphos Jefferson, Freshman

Second Team
Ava Yoakam, Bluffton, Senior
Megan Dulle, Bluffton, Junior
Elizabeth Schosker, Delphos Jefferson, Senior
Meredith Shepherd, Lima Central Catholic, Sophomore
Clare Mefferd, Crestview, Junior
Morgan Greeley, Lima Central Catholic, Senior
Sarah Rohan, Lima Central Catholic, Senior
Rachel Yoder, Bluffton, Junior
Hannah McCleery, Lincolnview, Freshman
Shayna Niese, Lima Central Catholic, Senior
Karli Leugers, Bluffton, Junior

Honorable Mention
Jenna Moreo, Delphos Jefferson, Junior
Cassidy Bevington, Delphos Jefferson, Senior
Hayley McAbee, Lincolnview, Junior
Brooke Kidd, Lima Central Catholic, Senior
Cheyenne Sweigert, Allen East, Senior
Abby Joyner, Allen East, Junior
Katelyn Simon, Ada, Junior
Brooke Bowen, Crestview, Sophomore
Ashley Szippl, Allen East, Senior
Mackenzie Richard, Crestview, Senior
Brianna Kidd, Lima Central Catholic, Senior
Annabel Pinkney, Ada, Sophomore
Natasha Long, Ada, Junior
Megan Foster, Crestview, Senior
Brittany Longwell, Crestview, Senior
Sydney Drerup, Delphos Jefferson, Junior
Haley Drerup, Delphos Jefferson, Senior
Megan Gilden, Delphos Jefferson, Senior
Julia Thatcher, Lincolnview, Freshman
Jayna Clemens, Lima Central Catholic, Senior
Darcci Swager, Crestview, Junior
Heather Rowe, Ada, Senior